PDA

View Full Version : Flooding, a curse worst than the trolls or no big deal....

catawampuscat
October 19th, 2010, 10:11
Flooding has become a major issue for this poster in recent months.
When I see one poster comments on 8 out 10 threads every day, it gets real old ..
The moderators have the troll control humming along and it no longer presents a
big problem, but just as annoying is Flooding.
What do you think?
It is my first attempt with a poll and probably my last.. :cat:

bao-bao
October 19th, 2010, 11:03
Multiple posts from any one member in a 24 hour period doesn't bother me if they have something of worth to add to the thread. Additional details, an alternate viewpoint, a personal experience to share - all of those can add to a thread.

I get tired of the quick replies thought by the person posting to be "witty" if done very often, and I tire even faster of the comments posted just to be commenting, such as "Heh... yeah, that's funny." That offense is compounded if they quote a lengthy passage before their pithy addition.

When I log in and see 8 or 9 posts in a row at the top of a page with the same person's handle I sometimes tend to just skip the lot of them, but I may be in the minority here, and have myself on rare occasions had my handle show of three or four posts in a row as the last commenter so I expect I may hear about that in this thread, too. Ah, well.

Smiles
October 19th, 2010, 11:14
I wonder if 'flooders' recognize themselves as such?
The opening post is obviously about one particular member (i.e. 'Beachlover'), and I'm pretty sure he does not recognize himself as one ... content with thinking of himself as simply 'contributing', or perhaps a bit more hifalutin' ~ 'prolific'.
If a flooder doesn't recognize his own behavior then I suppose that makes him simply blind or dumb. If he floods on purpose, then he's not only a flooder, but also a troll.