Gay Vietnam
Gay World
Everything Else
FAQ & Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jim and Myself

Liked

Jim and Myself

I've mentioned previously that I was a driver at a London minicab office in the 1990s. I always worked the night shift (less traffic), which I found tended to attract assorted loners and misfits of society, those of us without a welcoming family hearth to return to. I struck up a friendship of sorts with Jim, a silver-haired driver in his mid-sixties with a manly, still-handsome, if roughened, face, which made you think he might have been a boxer in younger days (he never was). For the most part he had a quiet, gentlemanly manner; his stately, gliding walk always amused me. But he was prickly and could be vindictive if crossed; some of the drivers were distinctly wary of him. If the subject of race came up his face would contort in fury. He was what in those days would have been called a National Front supporter. He had a visceral hatred of blacks or anyone else who threatened his rose-tinted image of ye olde merry England.

I don't remember actually telling him I was gay; perhaps he just worked it out for himself. He would say with an amused curl to his lip that I looked like the sort of person who should be working in the haberdashery department of a large store. I liked his dry wit, even when I was the butt of it. On one occasion I returned to the office to announce dramatically that my customer had just done a runner (ie left the cab at speed without paying). Jim turned slowly to face me and said, 'Why did he run, he could have walked?'