Quick navigation:
List of forums
Gay Thailand
Gay Cambodia
Gay Vietnam
Gay World
Everything Else
FAQ & Help

Thread: Retirement in Thailand--Is boredom a problem?

Liked

Retirement in Thailand--Is boredom a problem?

This forum has many interesting discussions about finances, visas, housing and other issues involving retirement in Thailand.

How about boredom? Do those of you who have retired in Thailand ever get bored of living in Thailand.

Sure, Thailand has great food, amazing people, as well as the hottest guys, but is this enough to keep you mentally alert and happy? What do you do to keep yourself busy?

I should note that I have been coming to [and dare I say cumming in] Thailand for almost 40 years, but my longest visit has about 3 weeks. Yes, I am sad to leave Thailand when I do, but I am also glad to get back to work, except when I have been involved with very difficult and corrupt projects in countries that I shall not mention....

I am thinking about retiring, but deep down I like my work (civil engineering projects), and think that I would be bored if I did not work, at least part-time. I have done a little analysis and have found that it would be much easier to work part-time in Switzerland or Europe....

Yes, I have been offered part-time engineering work in Thailand by a former Thai classmate with whom I studied engineering in the U.S. He has his own firm, and has retired because of serious health problems. Unfortnately, his son, who has assumed leadership of the firm, has neither the work ethic or talent of his father. Moreover, the projects seem to involve a lot of corruption and ass-kissing of government officials. Yes, there are other firms, as well as investments in major projects from China, Japan, and Europe.... But working part-time in Thailand in my field seems so complicated....

Of course, European projects have their own forms of corruption, but I know better how to deal with them.