Gay Vietnam
Gay World
Everything Else
FAQ & Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hotel Updates

Liked

Hotel Updates

I searched the forums and updates on some of the old stand by Bangkok hotels are years old. Last time I was in Bangkok ( before switching my alligience to Pattaya ) I ate at the restaurant of the Rose hotel. The food was excellent. I stayed there decades ago but it seems to be trying to be a business hotel now. Any idea of its sutibility for us?

Also, 30 years ago I was a novice and always stayed at the Suriwongse. It eeemed, then, to be the gayest hotel in the world. In fact, one very old guest called it " the mother house of our order." I heard about renovations but never read it mentioned here as a possible choice. I loved the coffee shop breakfast was good.

At the moment I'm thinking Tarntawan and I suspect it will be fine. But, I would be interested to know anything about other hotels in the Soi Twilight area. I've always walked by small hotels in Patpong but thought they might be aggressively straight - but, who knows?

Liked

Re: Hotel Updates

Quote Originally Posted by paborn View Post
    .. I would be interested to know anything about other hotels in the Soi Twilight area..
    It's been a long time since I visited BKK - I used to do a couple of days on arrival and a couple before departure but now I just go straight to Pattaya and straight back.

I can't imagine any hotels being "aggressively straight".

My "suite" at the Suriwongse was cockroach infested the last time I was there (and that was after the renovations) - but after threatening to walk out they found me a deluxe room with no wildlife. The Coffee Shop still exists but a shadow of the old one - no freelancers.

The Pavilion Place I recall as being quite good - first ever hotel I stayed in in Thailand. No problem with old queens (personal experience)