Gay Vietnam
Gay World
Everything Else
FAQ & Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rose Hotel,Bangkok

Liked

Rose Hotel,Bangkok

Has anyone either stayed at or have up to date reliable info on Rose Hotel, Surawong Rd. Bangrak. Any problems with joiners???
    I usually stay at Sathorn Inn when in Bangkok, (no probs with joiners) thought this trip would like to try something a bit more up-market. Sathorn Inn is Ok, @ 950/night, Rose is only 1600, so for the relatively small price difference the Rose looks more enticing than Sathorn Inn.

I know the Rose has been the subject of inquiries previously but the posts date back to 2008. Things change so often in Thailand

Liked

Re: Rose Hotel,Bangkok

Haven't stayed for about 6 months but the Rose tends not to change. I've been staying there since the late 1970s although I didn't stay much in the early nineties when the hotel was very rundown. Some of the staff have been there for more than twenty years. You get the feeling that they have seen everything in that time and know everything you get up to within a kilometre of the hotel!

I've never been charged a joiner fee but I have a sneaking suspicion that it is a variable thing. If you are an unfavoured guest there is a possibility of a fee being charged. I've witnessed irate guests protesting the charge at check out. They were inevitably people who were loud, demanding or generally obnoxious. It's the staff revenge mechanism.

I've found that reception doesn't require guest IDs to be checked unless they think you have a minor in tow, or someone they know to be or think might be trouble, or you want to have the ID held or checked. Since I have a preference for the more muscular, mature companion, I just walk through reception with a quiet greeting to the staff. I also book a double room although that is just a formality as the cost is the same whether there is one or two occupants.