PDA

View Full Version : Pharmacy Choice

sattahip-old
April 6th, 2006, 09:23
A word for the wise, shop around when buying your medication.
I have been using Foodland based pharmacy for many years, partly out of habit but also because I thought I had a fair relationship with small discounts.
How wrong can you be. I have to take Plavix a blood thinner and Lipitor an anti-cholesterol drug. Both are expensive.
This week out as I had seen a mention of Fascino on Thanon Pattaya Nua somewhere I went to compare prices;
Plavix 14 tablets Foodland B1700 Fascino B1330
Lipitor 10 tablets Foodland B900 Fascino B660
On top of that Fascino enrolled me on the spot in their freguent customer programme and gave me a 5% discount straight away.
I feel like a goose having been paying over the odds probably for years.

cottmann
April 6th, 2006, 09:33
A word for the wise, shop around when buying your medication...I feel like a goose having been paying over the odds probably for years.

You might save even more if there are generic alternatives available. I use a generic anti-hypertension at around 300 baht for 100 as opposed to around 1000 baht for 30 of the name brand, which is a significant saving, and there is no difference in the effectiveness of the generic medication.

wowpow
April 7th, 2006, 17:29
I dropped in there today - it's just next to City Hall, on North Pattaya Road, in a large swish new building. Some things on general display were a tad more expensive than the supermarkets so I went to the Dispensary not expecting too much. I asked for Salofalk and they had it in stock which surprised me. I checked and when I was first prescribed these by the Bumrungrad I paid Bt174 each. Since then I got them from Boots on special order and the price was Bt95 and it increased a bit. At Facino I paid Bt40 for the exact same thing. My Quinine Sulphate tablets are half the previous price 6 baht down to 3 bahr and Thai edition Clarityn is Bt28 for 10.