PDA

View Full Version : Civil Partnership UK

April 29th, 2009, 10:37
Hey Guys,

I'm a newbie so if i have posted in the wrong forum, i do appologise.

Ok, so me and my partner have been together for almost four years. I am 25 and he is 36. Out of those four years we have lived together in Thailand for about 3 and a half years. He is a Thai national, and i am british.

I am confused as how to apply for a civil partnership in the uk, I know it is not recognised in Thailand. He has been to the uk 3 times to visit on a tourist Visa, has his masters degree in Business and Marketing, and is the manager of production for a large import/export company that deals with worldwide brands of food products. (whether any of that helps i dont know)

So i was wondering if there are any oof you on here that have already gone through the processes of applying and going ahead with the civil partnership, and how you went about it? Its all so confusing for me its making my head spin.

I fly back to the uk today for 3 months (so sad right now) and think its the ideal time to put the wheels in motion.

any helpfull advice and info is much appreciated.
:smurf:

Marsilius
April 29th, 2009, 12:16
The UK General Register Office website is http://www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/civilpartnerships/ and it has all the necessary details. The section on "giving notice" has useful information for your specific requirements re. a Thai partner.

After 19 years together, my (English) partner and I took the plunge in April 2006 and we and our guests had a great day. The Civil Partnership officials who we encountered were all really positive and helpful.

And, three more years later (now 22 and counting) we are still together!

Brad the Impala
May 2nd, 2009, 23:59
You will also find a wealth of information at this site, and if you post in the forums you will get feedback from people with some expertise in this topic.

Uklgig (http://www.uklgig.org.uk)

May 7th, 2009, 00:58