PDA

View Full Version : (Important!!!) New Board For The New Year... NEW PASSWORDS!!

elephantspike
December 25th, 2008, 00:27
I've been working on the new phpBB3 version of the board for a few months now, and its almost ready. I plan on switching it over on New Years Eve, which is when tech support for the current software expires. If all goes well, all the current urls should forward to the converted pages. Expect some down time of one to several hours in the wee hours of January 1st (Thai time) while I finalize the conversion.

All users, posts, blog entries, attachments and album pics should be converted, but the first time registered users try to log in on the new board, you'll get a page with a link that auto-emails you a new password. You'll need to click on the link in that email, which brings you back on to the board, and copy and paste your newly generated password onto the login form. Then you can go to your user control panel>profile>account settings and change your password back to whatever you like. Note:this password will be auto generated from my yahoo account, so you may need to look in your spam box to find it!

The new board has a nifty new look, with two alternate styles you can choose from in your user control panel>board preferences>board style setting. Its loaded with built in features that used to be available only as add-ons. The only currently popular feature we have now that is not yet fully developed for the new software is the interactive event calendar, but that will be coming soon.

One cool new feature is that every user can customize their own board layout when logged-in by clicking and dragging the portal blocks/side bar blocks to whatever position they want. I'll post more about the new features later.

See ya on the other side.

December 25th, 2008, 00:46
you'll get a page with a link that auto-emails you a new password. You'll need to click on the link in that email