PDA

View Full Version : BBB Bangkok

thaiguest
June 21st, 2008, 11:22
I'm a recent resident in BBB Rama 4 having usually lodged in the Rose hotel or Suriwong hotel. Nothing wrong with either but the BBB comes out on top for me.
The place has a 70's/old Bangkok feel and I've never seen staff get such fun from a bottle of 100 pipers @600 baht. After 2 am boys from the gg bars owned by the same management crowd in to play pool. Last night some brought their girlfriends who were a bright and breezy bunch but I had to peek between their long tanned legs to see whose balls were being potted.

The room rates at the moment are 1200 baht for standard and 1500 baht for superior. I usually go standard because if you upgrade, taken off boys get the idea into their heads that you're rich and this is the first step on the road to being poor. If you're ever crazy enough be in a goldshop with a boy who thinks you're rich the only way to escape without people all round loosing face is to fake a fainting fit or some other such illness that will cause you to fall to the ground. Now, if there's anything a Chinese business sees as the ultimate in bad luck, it's someone stiffening in his shop. So you'll be out of there as quick as you can say Mao Tse Dong and everyone will be happy-even the boy...when you come to, unless you've already made your will in his favour.

The management style in the BBB is quiet, genial but firm. There's a rule apparently that if a boy's phone rings during working hours it's put in the safe for a week. Full marks to the owners for this. Thai boys will quite happily while away all their paid working hours talking to their friends if they get away with it. I'm told that a massage can be arranged in your room from among the staff but it was made clear that massage means only that. If you need something more you can go to the excellent K WHY two doors down, on the Suriwong side.