PDA

View Full Version : Hiring a guide

bucknaway
September 6th, 2007, 05:38
I have been coming to Thailand for many years and tend to go where the wind blows me. Last year when I was in Chiang Mai, I hired Bird of Birds Travels (Click for link to Birds Info) (http://thaiboy.net/member/index.php?alias=Birdvacation) and had a GREAT time! He took me to places I would have never seen but raved about whenever I am asked about my trip to Chiang Mai. He was a great guide and while he was with me the staff in the bars did not bother me requests to buy another drink. When we went to a disco, he was prepared with a bottle of whiskey and told me that we will only have to pay for mixers at 20B (I think that is right... I know the mixers were dirt cheap!).

Well now I am wondering if I could recreate the magic? I am thinking of hiring a guide for a night in Bangkok, Pattaya and Phuket. When I go back to Chiang Mai I plan to re-hire Bird for 2 nights! (The money he saves me in Tips, Taxi and drinks..... He almost pays for himself! hahaha

Anyway... Have any of you guys hired a guide that you could recommend? I don't want to go to a gogo bar and pick some guy off the stage and ask him to be a guide...... :)

September 6th, 2007, 08:04
http://gayguideinthailand.com/

I've used him twice in Bangkok and then a a day tour to Kanchanaburi

Nice and knowledgable

fedssocr
September 6th, 2007, 08:10
you can also try Purple Dragon www.purpledrag.com (http://www.purpledrag.com) My evening guide in BKK was awesome. The guy in Pattaya was OK, but he always repeated everything 3x even though I was nodding my head and understood what he was telling me. In general I loved their guides though. Very knowledgeable, punctual, and professional. You can hire their guides without buying their tour packages.

krobbie
September 6th, 2007, 12:58
http://gayguideinthailand.com/

I've used him twice in Bangkok and then a a day tour to Kanchanaburi

Nice and knowledgable