PDA

View Full Version : High Rise Fire

kodiak
March 30th, 2007, 23:19
In Long Beach California yesterday was a 20 story high rise fire in an apartment building....and one guy jumped to his death.......luckily not more were hurt.
There were no sprinklers in this building because it was built in 1967.
But it made me think a lot about the high rise condos in Thailand....and what would happen if a fire broke out.........

How is the Pattaya Fire dept equipted to handle such a disaster....?

I shudder to think...?
Do Thailand high rise condos have sprinkler systems.....?
My guess is not..?

Would certainly like to hear more on this subject from informed individuals..?
I have been coming to Thailand now for about 5 years....and want to buy a condo......but this latest fire....really has me thinking about the dangers...?
Especially in this Ocean 1 Project.......
Can airplanes easily fly by this High rise tower......scary to think of such things.....but i think one must..?

March 30th, 2007, 23:21
I`ve seen a few high rise fires in Bkk - they coped very well. One was in the big block you can see standing outside Solid about 14 floors up ( look left)

Are all those new fire engines out of storage yet?

March 30th, 2007, 23:53
I live in a high rise, and we have a pretty sophisticated sprinkler and fire alarm system. We also have regular fire drills. I had a fire consultant check the place out before I bought it, and he said it would meet US specifications.

Brad the Impala
March 31st, 2007, 03:08
I had a fire consultant check the place out before I bought it, and he said it would meet US specifications.

And that's supposed to be reassuring after the opening post!

jimnbkk
March 31st, 2007, 03:38