PDA

View Full Version : Valentines day and chinese new year

lonelywombat
February 5th, 2007, 07:41
I am surprised to see nothing about valentines day or chinese new year, which are only a few days apart

Does thai new year , coincide with the western date or similar to the chinese date?

Are there no parties for either in Pattaya?

jinks
February 5th, 2007, 12:55
There are a couple of items in the Calendar.

Bar / Clubs / Members can add an item if they know of it.

February 5th, 2007, 14:05
Does thai new year , coincide with the western date or similar to the chinese date?

The THAI New Year is in April - it is called SONGKRAN - http://www.thaiworldview.com/feast/songkran.htm

February 5th, 2007, 21:01

Uh...how long have you been coming to Thailand?

andrewcraig
February 6th, 2007, 04:44

Uh...how long have you been coming to Thailand?

From that link
"Now the official New Year's Day happens the 1st January"

I have been coming here for 12 years usually may or november and I dont know either, never had a reason to ask

usually I ask if there is a holiday during my vacation

BG,Just because you are a lonely bitter and twisted expat that has no life, why are you so bitchy to any one and every one that posts. Do you ever have a kind word for others. maybe if you tried that you might get some in return

Would some one please answer the question civilly Is the thai new year january 1 as per the link or during Songkran

Bob
February 6th, 2007, 05:17
They don't need much to celebrate something or party in Thailand and, as luck would have it, they can enjoy three "new year" celebrations - the western one (which is probably the least celebrated), the chinese new year, and Songkran.

Just ignore BG. As you can see, he gets off being a jerk.

February 6th, 2007, 05:48