PDA

View Full Version : Tale of Two Airports

February 1st, 2007, 11:09
Two Airports? A good idea?

I have a lot of Houston experience. There are two airports there, spaced maybe twice what Suvarnabhumi/Don Maung are spaced. But I bet Bangkok has a lot more people than Houston, much higher density here at least. I always prefer Houston Hobby over Dubya as it is nearer town. Here in Bangkok neither airport seems farther than the other from me.

Of course, Pattayans would prefer to fly from SVP.

New York has 3 airports, as well as LAX/ON/LB in the greater LA area.

There might be some rule about Don Maung I would think, to make it easier to decide what types of flights use it. Maybe 'only domestic' or 'no domestic/intl transfers', unless you want to plan your own transfer (carry bags between terminals/risk delays).

The prospect of lower prices from Don Maung on many regional flights has me favoring two airports.

The IATA, which seems to have something pegged to SVP's success, or just hates the Thai airforce, thinks 2 airports in Bangkok are a bad idea. I couldn't care about Thailand's "status" and can't see how travellers would be delayed once the new arrangement sinks in. ...

IATA WARNING:
Using 2 airports 'a huge hassle'

Status as aviation hub will be hit and travellers delayed

The International Air Transport Association says using two airports in Bangkok will hit Thailand's potential to be an aviation hub, and flight connections between the two airports will be a major inconvenience for travellers.

"To grow Bangkok as an aviation hub, the long-term vision should be to have all commercial flights operating out of one airport. A two-airport operation will dampen Bangkok's potential for becoming an aviation hub. Making flight connections between the two airports will be a huge inconvenience for passengers," said Albert Tjoeng, Asia-Pacific manager for corporate communications.