PDA

View Full Version : Trusted Jewelry Shops

DrewSpz
January 20th, 2018, 09:07
Hi folks, last request for info, promise!

How about any preferred/ trusted jewelry shops where I might find decent/ quality selection of male rings. Not necessarily wedding/ engagement rings...

Thanks for any thoughts.

francois
January 20th, 2018, 18:23
If gold, then any gold shop.

bkkguy
January 20th, 2018, 18:28
There's a shop in Pattaya called Honest Gems so I suppose they should be high on the list

bkkguy

neddy3
January 21st, 2018, 11:29
Am I correct in believing that all gold shops have to be registered with the government?
Very common for them to show the official gold value rate in their windows.

mahjongguy
January 21st, 2018, 14:42
Since I'm not an expert at evaluating gemstones, and don't have one to assist me, I wouldn't trust any gems on sale in Thailand. Call me a cynic.

If I were looking to just buy something in gold, that's different. I would trust a number of larger, long-established gold shops, but there's one thing you need to know: if you buy jewelry (as opposed to bullion) you won't be able to sell it back to any shop except the one that sold it to you, and even then they will come up with fees or other tricks to ensure you don't get the full buy-back value. This despite the "guarantee" on the receipt.

neddy3
January 21st, 2018, 15:41
Since I'm not an expert at evaluating gemstones, and don't have one to assist me, I wouldn't trust any gems on sale in Thailand. Call me a cynic.

I wouldn't call you a cynic.
I'd call you extremely wise.

neddy3
January 21st, 2018, 15:43