View Full Version : How do you use Grindr?

cdnmatt
April 1st, 2015, 18:48
I figured it anyone knew how to use Grindr, it would be my fellow gay Thailand sex-pats / sex-tourists. Ohhh... I mean "desperados". I think that's the term we're using now, right?

Anyway, just bought my first tablet today, a Samsung Galaxy Note, or something or another. Considering I develop software for a living, you'd think I'd know how to use one of these things, but in all honesty, I don't have the slightest idea. I did get Grindr installed, and it seems to have picked up my location fine, but it's giving me people in places like Cambodia, Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Pattaya, etc. I want people in my city (or neighborhood would be even better), not people in the next country over.

Can't seem to find any settings to change this. What am I doing wrong?

Bonus Question: Anyone know how to get the Thai alphabet going on this thing? I only seem to be able to bring up the English keyboard.

christianpfc
April 1st, 2015, 23:33
Are you trolling (again, or since you started?)? I have to admit I believed your stories for years, but that fake BBQ invitation some years ago openend my eyes.

Grindr gives profiles sorted by distance, closest first. It gets location from googlemaps, which gets it from GPS or WiFi.

Text input is something completely different, via a keyboard app. As you change languages e.g. for writing a text message, you change language for writing on Grindr.

francois
April 2nd, 2015, 03:56
Are you trolling (again, or since you started?)? I have to admit I believed your stories for years, but that fake BBQ invitation some years ago openend my eyes.

There are others who have also been hoodwinked by Matt. Showed up for a rendezvous and no Matt and a fake cell number.

colmx
April 2nd, 2015, 04:35
wel in case Matt is real...
Sounds like you have a fake device with a crappy chinese mediatek procesor...
The mediatek GPS is brutal and makes your location drift by sometimes 100's of miles