PDA

View Full Version : I need some help with photographs ...

Smiles
June 15th, 2006, 21:20
I'm by no means an expert on this problem, and need some advice. I'm sure it's out there!

My 2 latest photo albums in "My Pictures" (on my hard drive) are named Thailand_2005 and Thailand_2006. I've been able to upload all the photos I want to into my Sawatdee Album from Thailand_06 with no problem.

But my attempts to upload any photos from the Thailand_2005 album are refused by the Sawatdee Forum software ( I get a message which says the photo file is too large, or the file is corrupted ). Well, the photos are not corrupted, but it looks like they are too large. The Album 'byte' limit is 200,000 and all the photos in Thailand_2005 are over that limit.

The fundamental difference between the photos in the 2 albums is this: The 2005 photos were taken on an old fashioned film camera . . . the 2006 photos were all taken on a nice shiny new digital camera.

Although all of the photos in both albums are 'around' the same physical size (i.e. the 800X600 thing for easy viewing on the screen), by "byte" size the digitals are all under the 200,000 byte limit, whilst the film shots are all in the 200,001 to 400,000 byte area . . . too big for uploading.

My question is: does anyone know if there is a technique to reduce the "byte" size of a film image (as opposed to a digital image) while at the same time keeping the clarity of the photo, and NOT reducing it down to a physical size too small to view properly?

I'd like to upload a number of shots from the 2005 holiday, but at this moment I cannot bcause of the size issue.

Any guru out there with a solution?

Cheers ...

PS . . . and why ARE film images significantly larger (by "byte" size) than digital images? All my digitals are much clearer than any of my film photos ( which says to me there is more 'information' packed into the photo on a digital image ) . . . but yet the "byte" size is smaller across the board.

Jetsam