PDA

View Full Version : Surviving on a Scooter (in Thailand)

elephantspike
November 28th, 2013, 03:57
This is a blog post. To read the original post, please click here ┬╗ (http://www.thaicanuck.com/surviving-on-a-scooter-in-thailand/)

(From the Thai Canuck blog we are publishing syndicated excerpts from on the main site. I don't know about you but I'm totally chicken-shit about riding on anything on 2 wheels in L.O.S.- e.s.)

http://sawatdeenetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/thailand_scooter-filled-up-with-a-family1.jpg (http://sawatdeenetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/thailand_scooter-filled-up-with-a-family1.jpg)

The most popular tourist season is coming up. As the climate gets colder in other parts of the world, people scramble to places such as Thailand to enjoy a few warm days in the sunshine. ┬аMany will rent scooters to get around the areas they visit and many have never been on a motorized two-wheel vehicle before. It can be a recipe for disaster!

I started riding later in life, sometime shortly after I turned fifty. However, I made up for lost time and since then have criss-crossed North America several times on a large cruiser (Kawasaki Nomad 1500) along with many shorter road trips and rides. ┬аFor the last six years, I rode a scooter and a motorcycle daily in ChinaтАЩs traffic. And now, I am zipping around Chiangmai on my new Honda PCX150. I have yet to have an accidentтАжever. I attribute this to experience, but even more so, to the two riding courses I took when I first started on my large motorcycle back in Canada. In this little post, I will pass along a list of pointers to hopefully help people survive riding a scooter while they visit Thailand, or any other country for that matter.

1) DonтАЩt rent a scooter unless you have to!