PDA

View Full Version : Best time to experience Bangkok's gay scene

discord87
October 4th, 2013, 15:19
Hey guys, newbie here!! Hoping to learn a lot from everyone. :-)

I've only been to Bangkok twice, once during Christmas last year and the 2nd time was mid-May this year. I was just wondering when would be the best time to experience the gay scene in Bangkok. I'm guessing the Gay Pride celebration is something to look forward to.

I'm planning to go there again during Songkran next year just to experience the whole thing, but I read somewhere that a lot of the boys at the go go bars won't be around during Songkran. Is that true?

Thanks for sharing any info on this. :-)

MiniMee
October 4th, 2013, 19:56
Any time is a good time to visit Bangkok. ItтАЩs a major Capital city and therefore not greatly affected by climatic or tourist seasons. Your previous visits have coincided with western and Thai festivals that do see peak numbers of tourists in town, but whether these are 'good' times to visit or not depend on what you want from the gay scene in Bangkok.

I am guessing that you are probably quite young (26?) and therefore might enjoy the party scene and the wild times during Songkran. DonтАЩt miss a trip to the Khao San Road area at Songkran, but the Pride week can be a bit hit and miss, if it is even on next year. The G-Circuit parties are worth making trip for if you like meeting up with other visitors from HK, Singapore, Philippines Malaysia, Australia etc.

If the go-go bar scene is what you are after, any time of year will provide good opportunities to experience that. Bars are full most weekends but quieter during the week. There are fewer boys available during the summer months, which coincide with harvest time on the farms in Isaan, but there are always plenty of choices at any time of year. There will be more boys and more farang customers in December and January. But more customers can mean less choice тАУ up to you.