PDA

View Full Version : Jobs, Jobs, Jobs

Thaiwriter
June 3rd, 2013, 22:27
This may be an old and tired thread but perhaps someone here might have some new and interesting input into the topic. I'm wondering what jobs there are available for farangs in Thailand. Aside from the usual expected role of 'farang English teacher' that is. I'm looking for new ideas and challenges - a place to maybe forge my own trail or carve out my own niche. Without posting my resume on this forum I am almost 50, in good health, physically active if not 100% physically fit. I can read, write and speak Thai rather well if not fluently (yet.) My education is minimal but I have a lot of career experience in management. I'm not opposed to teaching English - or teaching Thai to other farangs - but I want to bring something new to the table. I'm creative and like sharing knowledge and training others so maybe a teaching career would be the best I am suited for but I want to have an open mind to new ideas and enterprises. Serious opportunities only and no fly-by-night, get rich quick nonsense. Any suggestions?

cdnmatt
June 4th, 2013, 00:09
It's 2013, globalization has taken affect. Where you are in the world doesn't matter much anymore. I work with some pretty young guys from places like India and the Philippines, who are from very modest backgrounds, and they're making a hell of a lot more than me. Not only are they around 10 years younger than me, they're also from some small, shitty city / town in a 3rd world country. Yet, they're making a killing. That type of thing wasn't possible even 10 years ago, but is quite common place now.

You said you read & write Thai fluently, so there you go for a starter. Offer translation services on the various online marketplaces available out there.

dab69
June 4th, 2013, 00:46
" My education is minimal ..."

For teaching:
Isn't a college degree now mandatory?
Along with Thai class in culture, TEFL class certificate is encouraged for teaching English.