PDA

View Full Version : Information needed: girlie bars (yuck!)

Marsilius
May 31st, 2006, 03:18
I have been to Thailand on about 40 visits since 1993 so am quite familiar with how the system for offing boys works. But later this year I will be taking a straight male friend with me. It is his first visit and I have promised to take him to one or more girlie bars.

AS girls are of no sexual interest to me, I am a complete novice in this respect. Can anyone enlighten me as to how the system there works? Is it exactly the same as in a boy bar (ask the mamasan to get one over to talk; talk and/or negotiate; pay "off" fee; take out)? Is the etiquette of the transaction any different? What about the sort of open air beer bars you get along Beach Road in Pattaya? Does the system work in the same way with the girls behind the bar there?

What about fees? Comparable to a boy's? More? Less?

Any information (not on where the bars are - I know that - but how the offing system works) will be greatly appreciated so as to avoid possible embarrassment.

Jetsam
May 31st, 2006, 03:35
I'm no expert on girly bars either, but what I understand the price for drinks is lower and the off fee is higher.
The girls in the open beer bars are cheaper to off about 300 baht and demand a lower tip. don't ask me why , just what I read

sing_lofty_sing
May 31st, 2006, 04:19
I use girly bars a lot. The beer bars are by far the most common place to go for the girls, and normaly charge you bht 150 for an off so thats cheaper than offing a boy for a start.
The girlie gogos are somthing else thou. The off fee can range from bht 200 up to about 600bht, depending on the area and gogo you use. But in the girl gogo bars you do get the girls all dancing and not just standing still or doing the boys 2 foot shuffle. So more entertainment there for a start. Beers are always cheaper in the girl gogo bars too. Look at the boards they always hold up out front.