PDA

View Full Version : I'm US , ailing, gay and now an ex-Republican

lonelywombat
October 22nd, 2012, 14:10
Story of a man with a Thai husband and his problems

http://www.sacbee.com/2012/10/21/492516 ... lican.html (http://www.sacbee.com/2012/10/21/4925169/im-ailing-gay-and-now-an-ex-republican.html)

Tom Knutson is a professor of communication studies at California State University, Sacramento, and a professor of global communication at Bangkok University, Thailand.

Viewpoints: I'm ailing, gay and now an ex-Republican

Tom Knutson is a professor of communication studies at California State University, Sacramento, and a professor of global communication at Bangkok University, Thailand.

I am 69 years old. I am a professor emeritus from California State University, Sacramento. I am gay. I have pancreatic cancer. I am changing my voter registration from Republican to independent. Let me tell you why.

First of all, since my cancer diagnosis in April, I've been treated by an incredibly gifted team of cancer surgeons, anesthesiologists, oncologists, radiologists, pathologists, endocrinologists, nurses, pharmacists, laboratory technicians, social workers and nutritionists. This incredibly knowledgeable group has provided me with surgery, radiation therapy, chemotherapy, and a wide assortment of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures. The cost of these services to date totals well over $400,000 тАУ perhaps a partial explanation of the massive construction projects currently under way at hospitals in our region.