PDA

View Full Version : Do you get sunburnt in Thailand?

christianpfc
July 4th, 2012, 04:27
Do you get sunburnt in Thailand?

I just got my second light sunburn this year in Paris. I never got a sunburn in Thailand. A friend said he got sunburnt in Scotland, but not in Spain. Any similar observations?

When in Thailand, I usally spend all days outside, in Europe only one day per week. In Europe as well as in Thailand I avoid exposure to sun, but do not use sunblock.

I did never get a sunburn during the 3 years I studied in England. (DonтАЩt laugh at the idea of getting a sunburn in England! An English colleage had such pale skin, she got sunburnt in England as well!)

joe552
July 4th, 2012, 04:32
I got badly burned on my first trip to Pattaya - spending a day on Koh Larn, primarily on my legs. It's not at all pleasant. I don't sit out in the sun anymore, preferring to enjoy my daily drinks in a shaded bar (my daytime favourite is the Pattaya Beer Garden).

stevehadders
July 4th, 2012, 06:44
I either burn like hell or nothing at all - extremes - especially if I visit the Islands I burn too much. In England I often burn when out sailing and even had a lick of sun this last weekend at a Thai Festival on the South Coast of England (amazing as it was very outcast with only short spell of sun!)
Joe - where is the Pattaya beer Garden - i don't know it

cameroncat
July 4th, 2012, 07:06
You should burn faster in tropic zones than northern zones. Fastest place I ever burned was Australia. Burned my scalp even though I have a full head of hair!
Now, after too many years of tanning like most Baby Boomers, My skin is a mess and I avoid the sun like the plague!

gregvc
July 4th, 2012, 08:03
Skin cancers can take decades to show. Aust has a very high rate of skin cancers and the public has been warned off sunbaking. You only have to see some Queensland women in their fifties to see the "leathery skin" effect. Yuk!

Marsilius
July 4th, 2012, 12:41