PDA

View Full Version : Where is everyone?

bucknaway
October 7th, 2011, 15:56
Bangkok seems so empty of tourist. I have been visiting in October for many years and this has to be the first time I took notice on how empty the place is of tourist.

Maybe Friday will be different?

Here at Babylon I think only one other guy has a room on the floor I am on....

October 7th, 2011, 17:00
You ain't seen anything yet! Wait till you get to Pattaya.

donald1
October 7th, 2011, 17:34
yes Bucky, you will be surprised in Pattaya. At the beach I have a habit of changing locations just to spread the baht and hell..... a beach chair is a beach chair..... some have 3-4 customers. Sad.
After 10 days in Bangkok & Pattaya I changed gears and came to Cambodia (Siem Reap) for the first time and I AM LOVING IT. Small gay scene but the friendliest people "as a whole" I have ever encountered in my many travels. The food is so inexpensive I actually felt bad eating so much at a small Cambodian restaurant and the bill being $3.US I thought I read it wrong.

Enjoy your time while you are there I know you look forward to your trips to Thailand like I used to. Now a side trip here to Cambodia will always be on the itinerary.

CoffeeBreak
October 7th, 2011, 19:53
Low season, poor exchange rates, financial crises etc are likely causes for the shortage of visitors.

frequentflier
October 7th, 2011, 21:01
just got back from spending 2 weeks in Pattaya..The place was very quiet..Jomtien beach was empty,in saying that the sun did not shine a lot..Sunnee plaza was just about ticking over but sad to see the place going downhill.Too many dark and empty places.Lots of bars for sale.
I visited montys a few times but saw no one there in spite of all his efforts to get people in.
Boyztown still has a few busy bars,Panorama and Oscars were usually busy and Funny Boys was excellent..Boyz Boyz Boyz is changing,at last, with some new younger guys but needs to get rid of the older ones,just my opinion.