PDA

View Full Version : Thai Language classes in Bangkok

cameroncat
August 19th, 2011, 07:31
I'm going to be in Bangkok for 2 1/2 months this winter, with lots of spare time during the day. I might as well take some Thai Language courses. Anyone have a recommendations or experience with any Thai Language classes/courses?

Thanks!

netrix
August 19th, 2011, 16:06
a thai friend of mine teaches for Walen (http://www.thaiwalen.com/). i haven't taken the classes but he's
taught me some lessons privately and it's a very good method.
(i've taught him a thing or two as well. )

christianpfc
August 19th, 2011, 23:32
There is a lot of discussion on Thaivisa Thai Language. I can recommend from my own experience: Don't study in classes, get a private tutor. It will be more expensive, but you his/her full attention and don't have to listen to other classmate's wrong Thai. Learn the Thai alphabet from the beginning (i.e. no romanization at all).

I studied at Thai Language Solution Phaya Thai branch (and made the mistake to start with a group course with romanization), but they provide individual lessons and reading/writing from the beginning as well. Even though I didn't do their Rapid Reading Course from the beginning, I made a lateral entry and it looked quite good to me and I believe it is possible to learn to read and write Thai in a week or two.

cdnmatt
August 20th, 2011, 02:56
Learn the Thai alphabet from the beginning (i.e. no romanization at all).