View Full Version : Legal AOC

October 27th, 2010, 19:03
Another debate has arisen about the legal age of consent in Thailand. We all know it is set at 18 years but did the authorities not bring in a clause back in 2003 time that made paid sex with an under 20 year old illegal? At the same time it was also made illegal for under 20 year olds to enter places of entertainment such as discos and bars unless employed as waiters. Remember the ID checks carried out at the entrances to Soi's 2 and 4 in Bangkok where under 20 year olds were stopped and turned away?

cdnmatt
October 27th, 2010, 19:22
I'm no lawyer, but as far as I'm aware, legal AOC is 15 in Thailand, you can have sex for pay at 18, and you can have a drink a bar at 20. In KK at least, most of the larger clubs seem to strictly enforce the 20yo limit. The cops do regular checks around here, and if they find someone under 20, the bar gets fined something like 20,000 or 30,000 baht, with the possibility of having their license revoked. However, if you're with a farang, the ID check doesn't matter. If you walk through the entrance door with a farang, you could probably be 14, and still get in. They never ID anyone with a farang, for some unknown reason.

There's been a few times now where there was a 17yo with us even, and I kept getting prodded, "Come on Matt, you have to come with us, or else he can't get in!". Go there, line of people at the front getting ID'd, security in on the ball, people getting turned away, and we just walk right in.

October 27th, 2010, 19:26
The Law:
You can work in a bar at age 18
You have to be 20 to enter the bar as a customer

October 27th, 2010, 23:19