PDA

View Full Version : Trip Ideas for things to do in BKK

adman5000
October 15th, 2010, 11:13
I am planning my next trip and trying to find some different things to do and see while I am in BKK. I have been visiting Thailand 1-2 times each year for the past 5+ years so I have done quite a variety previously, but there are still many popular things I haven't done. My brain can't take going to a go-go bar or massage venue every waking moment. :bot:

What is your favorite musical venue in BKK? Does anyone have any current suggestions?
What is your favorite park or scenic area?
What was your most enjoyable recent meal experience in BKK?
If you were writing your own gay guide for BKK, what would the top 5 must-do's be?
What is your favorite day trip outside BKK?

I would appreciate your suggestions and experiences.

-

Beachlover
October 15th, 2010, 12:14
I'd love to hear everyone's suggestions for things to do in Bangkok too...

In mean the meantime, these are mine. I have not done all of these (so no guarantees), but the ones I haven't done are on my list to do...

During the day:

- Go for a walk around Chinatown - lots of great little markets, shops and eateries there.

- Visit Chatuchak Market. World's biggest weekend market. Saturday/Sunday. Better to go there early in the day but it is fine later in the day too (just hotter). You can spend hours walking around. Stuff is also the cheapest here too. For example, while you might pay 180 baht for underwear at the Patpong Night market, here they can be bargained down to 100 baht (rough comparison from memory).

- Visit one of the Floating Markets (have to be up early for this).

- Go for a walk or run in Lumpini Park. Or just laze around there beside one of the lakes. I was sick with a stomach/gastro bug once and was staying in a crappy room at the time so instead of resting in my hotel I went to the park and laid on the grass all day until I got better. Really nice spot.