PDA

View Full Version : Do I make a booking to visit LOS?

August 14th, 2010, 04:01
Hi, everybody. I have been visiting Thailand once a year for over 10 years, in November. Is it wise to go ahead with booking the flights, or is the chance of disruption by political protests too great? I remember that my visit in 2008 was prolonged by several days due to the Bangkok airports occupation by protesters.

I am not planning to visit Bangkok itself, but to visit my usual haunts, Pattaya and Phuket.

Any advice?

allieb
August 14th, 2010, 04:04
Just book it and go. Whatever will be will be. Don't be negative

August 14th, 2010, 04:32
I hear the civil war is due to start on the 31st of October and will last for 6 weeks. Anyway what makes you thing your UK airport will be operating?

lonelywombat
August 14th, 2010, 15:14
Come it is not that bad Investigate your options of flying out of Phuket flying from U Tapoa.
Why not come in via Singapore for a change?

I am sure there are flights to Singapore and many other Asian capitals.

DCbob
August 14th, 2010, 19:01
I have no problem, I was caught in the same way as you in 2008, but I have my reservations leaving for BKK on November 26.

Beachlover
August 14th, 2010, 21:18
I'm curious:

Did anyone who was caught in the airport blockade have their accommodation and living expenses paid for by the TAT or Thai Government as they announced would happen?

How did it work?

August 14th, 2010, 22:53
Thanks for your replies. I guess I will go ahead and book.

Regarding Beachlover's question about compensation for accommodation costs, in my case I didn't bother to claim. I was staying in Patong Beach. When my flight to UK was definitely cancelled I booked myself from HKT to LHR by Malaysian Airlines on the earliest date available. That meant an extra 4 nights, and I was able to stay on at the same resort. I cancelled my original bookings via Bangkok, and did eventually get refunds.

August 14th, 2010, 23:39
I'm curious: