PDA

View Full Version : Cigarette One More

March 16th, 2010, 06:47
Can someone who is fluent in the Thai language tell me why boys ask for a cigarette by saying "Cigarette one more"

I know a little Thai so my translation of 'cigarette one more' would be something like 'Bourri ick neung'. Is that what Thais say to each other when asking for a ciggy?

And why when they ask do they never use the word please? I have tried telling them that what they are saying in English sounds plain rude and that what they should say is 'May I have a cigarette, please' but I am a not a teacher or a linguist so my good intentions fall on deaf ears.

Can anyone help?

ps. This is a question about language so please can the anti-smoking league butt out just for once?

March 16th, 2010, 07:45
Its a matter of how Thai grammer is constructed, and boys will often just translate the Thai words into English words without understanding English grammer. As for "please", thats a cultural thing and it could fill volumes. Money boys are not going to be interested in the nuances of the English language or of western culture. 'Please' in English is one word, while Thai has several different versions depending on the context, and its not used in the same way as in English. After living here for a while, I realise that native English speakers are obsessed with "please' and 'thank you'.

March 16th, 2010, 08:05
Since the phrase in Thai has no single word that translates directly as "please", it is no mystery why it doesn't come through when Thai boys attempt a word-for-word translation.

March 16th, 2010, 14:24
Its a matter of how Thai grammer is constructed, and boys will often just translate the Thai words into English words without understanding English grammer.

Thanks for that.
I am not too worried about the cultural lack of please and thank you (even though Thais have a reputation of being polite) but I am still very curious about the phrase 'cigarette one more'.